Webinar: Perspectives on HIV and Depression in Corrections

Share/Print
September 15, 2020

8 am PST  ǀ  9 am MST  ǀ   10 am CST  ǀ   11 am EST

Presented by Glenn Treisman, MD, PhD, Professor of Psychiatry and Medicine, John Hopkins UniversityAbstract head
Duration: 1.0 hour

HIV affects approximately 1.3% of inmates in correctional facilities, which is more than four times the prevalence found in the general U.S. populations. Furthermore, depression is one of the most common comorbidities affecting adults living with HIV, with prevalence estimates ranging from 20% to 40%. In addition to being a serious clinical concern, depression complicates the management of HIV: It has been linked to low adherence to antiretroviral therapy, accelerated clinical progression of HIV, and higher mortality rates. In this free webinar, Dr. Treisman will discuss these co-occurring conditions and treatment options. Program participants will receive access to the PowerPoint presentation and the webinar recording.

Registration Fee: FREE 
Made available through a medical education grant from Gilead Sciences.  

Educational Objectives
  • Identify the risks, symptoms, and treatments for depression in patients being treated for HIV
  • Outline a treatment overview for patients receiving therapy for HIV
  • Describe interactions of personality and substance use disorders with HIV treatment

Continuing Education Credit

1.0 hour of credit is available (ACCME, ANCC, APA, ADA, CCHP)

About the Presenter 

Glenn Treisman, MD, PhD, is the Eugene Meyer III Professor of Psychiatry and Medicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He is director of the AIDS Psychiatry Service and director of the Pain Treatment Program. He is also the co-founder and co-director of the Amos Food, Body, and Mind Center, an interdisciplinary program that studies atypical GI disorders. His lectures on psychiatry, the opioid epidemic, and medical ethics have earned him international invitations and lectures. His lecture on DNR orders and medical ethics has been referred to as “the Gettysburg Address of medicine” and the American College of Physicians recognized his work with the presentation of the William C. Menninger Memorial Award for Distinguished Contribution to the Science of Mental Health.

 REGISTER NOW