Schizophrenia Management: Bringing the Best Strategies Into Corrections

Share/Print

JULY 21, 2020

7:30 am PDT  ǀ 8:30 am MDT  ǀ   9:30 am CDT  ǀ   10:30 am EDT

FREE educational program made possible by an independent educational grant from AlkermesSchizophrenia

Duration: 1.0 hour

Schizophrenia is overrepresented in the criminal justice system, particularly in correctional facilities, with prevalence estimated at 2% to 6.5% in state prison inmates vs. 1.1% in the U.S. adult population. Atypical long-acting injectable therapies should be considered as a treatment option for individuals with schizophrenia during incarceration and as they transition to community care settings. This program will review treatment options, especially use of targeted antipsychotic therapy, to reduce exacerbation of illness and recidivism.

Presented by:

Andrew Angelino, MD, Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Johns Hopkins. He is also Chair or Psychiatry at Johns Hopkins Howard County General Hospital and the Associate Director of AIDS Psychiatry at Johns Hopkins Hospital. Dr. Angelino is a Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association and a Fellow of the Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine.

Continuing Education Credit

1.0 hour of credit is available (ACCME, ANCC, APA, CCHP, ADA)

Educational Objectives

  • Outline current treatment strategies for patients with schizophrenia
  • Discuss the future directions in schizophrenia treatment and the symptoms targeted
  • Explore the impact of targeted pharmacotherapy on recidivism and integration into community treatment

REGISTRATION IS CLOSED DUE TO CAPACITY LIMITS. THE RECORDING WILL BE AVAILABLE AFTER JULY 23.