NCCHC Announces New Board Members and Officers

Posted Nov 22, 2013

Chicago (November 20, 2013) – The National Commission on Correctional Health Care announces the results of its Board election for 2013–2014.

The Board has elected Renee Kanan, MD, MPH, as chair. Dr. Kanan is the liaison to the American College of Physicians on the NCCHC Board. She is also the chief quality officer for California Correctional Health Care Services, which is responsible for the health care of 170,000 inmates in 33 state prison facilities.

Patricia Reams, MD, CCHP, has been elected chair-elect. She is the liaison to the NCCHC Board from the American Academy of Pediatrics and is a pediatrician with Cumberland Hospital.

Tom Fagan, PhD, CCHP-MH, has been elected treasurer. Jayne Russell, MEd, CCHP-A, was elected secretary.

Carolyn Sufrin, MD, was elected to the Board as the liaison to the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. ACOG became the 37th organization to have a representative on the NCCHC Board of Directors.

Finally, the Board accepted the resignation of Patricia Voermans, MSN, CCHP-RN, as the liaison from the American Nursing Association with its thanks for her years of service. Mary Muse, RN, CCHP-RN, CCHP-A, director of nursing, Wisconsin Department of Corrections, was elected to take Voermans’ place.




For more information or photos, contact Kim Sterling, director of marketing, at 773-880-1460 ext 284 or