Fuel on the Fire: How COVID-19 Impacts HIV and HCV Testing, Treatment and Prevention in Corrections

Share/Print
WEBINAR
NOVEMBER 3, 2020

9 am PST  ǀ  10 am MST  ǀ   11 am CST  ǀ   12 pm EST

Presented by Alysse G. Wurcel, MD, Division of Geographic Medicine and Infectious Diseases at Tufts Medical Center
COVID Virus
Duration: 1.0 hour

Correctional facilities have historically registered exceptionally high infectious diseases rates. HIV prevalence is generally 5 to 7 times higher than in the surrounding community and HCV can be 10 to 13 times greater. This year, COVID-19 has also attacked U.S. correctional populations, resulting in rates often 10 times greater than in the community. The speaker will review issues related to HIV and HCV management in correctional facilities and how this new epidemic affects discharge planning. This webinar will be recorded and available on the NCCHC website for one year.

Registration Fee: FREE 

Made available through a medical education grant from Janssen

Educational Objectives
  • Discuss how COVID-19 can affect management of HIV and HCV inside and outside of jails and prisons 
  • Identify strategies for testing, treatment, and linkage programs in jails despite limited budgets and sparse resources
  • Describe effective treatment options to improve patient outcomes

Continuing Education Credit

1.0 hour of credit is available (ACCME, ANCC, APA, ADA, CCHP, NASW)

About the Presenter 

Alysse G. Wurcel, MD, is an assistant professor in the Division of Geographic Medicine and Infectious Diseases at Tufts Medical Center in Boston. Her internal medicine residency was at Massachusetts General Hospital and infection disease fellowship at Columbia-Presbyterian Hospital and Tufts Medical Center. In addition to her work as an inpatient ID doctor, Dr. Wurcel has an outpatient clinic where she specializes in HIV, HCV, and substance use disorder care. In April she began working as the COVID-19 ID consultant for the Massachusetts Sheriffs’ Association, overseeing COVID-19 prevention and mitigation in the state’s jails. She has received funding to investigate health disparities in access to COVID-19 testing for health care workers. 

NOTE: This free webinar is included in registration for the National Conference on Correctional Health Care so there is no need to register for both. However, if you wish to only attend this session, you should register for this session separately.

Registration for this session also includes includes another free webinar, Overcoming Barriers to Care for HIV in Corrections on November 4 at 1 pm (central) and access to the virtual online exhibit hall during the National Conference. 

 

 REGISTER NOW