COVID-19 in Juvenile Justice Settings: A Roundtable Discussion

Share/Print

Presented by NCCHC's Juvenile Health Committee and the American Academy of Pediatrics

JUNE 5, 2020

10 am PDT  ǀ  11 am MDT  ǀ   12 pm CDT  ǀ   1 pm EDT

Duration: 1 Hour

There is no charge to attend.

National experts on health care in juvenile detention settings will share their policies, practices and perspectives and will answer questions on managing COVID-19 with this vulnerable population. While every detention facility is unique, this discussion will offer ideas that you can use in your own setting to ensure public health and safety during this unprecedented challenge. The webinar will be recorded and posted.

Among the topics to be discussed:

  • Coordination with public health
  • Intake/admission screening, testing and quarantine
  • Staff issues and concerns
  • Medical isolation and management of illness
  • Prevention strategies
  • Diversion and reentry

 Speakers

  • Elizabeth Lowenhaupt, MD, CCHP (chair, Juvenile Health Committee) – Consulting psychiatrist, Rhode Island Training School
  • Paula Braverman, MD (liaison, American Academy of Pediatrics) – Chief, Division of Adolescent Medicine, Baystate Children’s Hospital, Massachusetts
  • Jennifer Maehr, MD (panelist) – Medical Director, Maryland Department of Juvenile Services              
  • David Oh, MD, CCHP (panelist) – Medical Director, Los Angeles County Juvenile Court Health Services              
  • Brian Conant, PsyD, CCHP (panelist) – Behavioral Health Director, Cook County Juvenile Temporary Detention Center, Illinois                              
  • Brent Gibson, MD, MPH, CCHP-P (moderator)  – Chief Health Officer, NCCHC

Questions to the panel are welcome and can be sent in advance to the Juvenile Health Committee liaison at JaimeShimkus@ncchc.org.  

 REGISTER NOW