Board Announces Chair and Officers for 2018-2019

Posted Nov 7, 2018

The NCCHC board of directors has announced its officers for 2018-2019. 

Thomas J. Fagan, PhD, CCHP-MH, is now chair, having served as chair-elect for one year.

Dr. Fagan is a clinical psychologist with a long career as an advocate for health and mental health care in corrections. As the NCCHC board liaison of the American Psychological Association since 1996, he has been instrumental in spearheading programs to help meet the challenges presented by the growing population of inmates with mental illness. He co-chaired the task force that developed the most recent edition of the Standards for Mental Health Services in Correctional Facilities, helped to create NCCHC’s annual Correctional Mental Health Care Conference, and chaired the committee that developed a certification for correctional mental health professionals (CCHP-MH).

In a career spanning 25 years with the Federal Bureau of Prisons, Dr. Fagan worked as a psychologist and psychology administrator, ultimately serving as director of clinical training. At the BOP, he helped develop correctional mental health programs, policies and procedures, and trained professional, paraprofessional and correctional staff. For many years, he was the prison system’s chief hostage negotiator, and has presented programs on correctional hostage negotiation to departments of correction all over the country.

Most recently, he served as professor and associate dean of psychology at Nova Southeastern University in Florida.

Other Board Officers

Robert E. Morris, MD, CCHP-P, professor emeritus at University of California, Los Angeles, was elected chair-elect. He is the Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine liaison to the board and has chaired the Juvenile Health Committee and the Executive Committee. Previously he served as health care director for the Division of Juvenile Justice with the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation and as medical director for the Louisiana Office of Juvenile Justice.

Nancy B. White, MA, LPC, liaison of the American Counseling Association, continues her tenure as treasurer. Ms. White is a team leader with Truman Medical Center Behavioral Health, Kansas City, MO, where she assists individuals diagnosed with mental illness who are involved with the criminal justice system. She has been on the NCCHC board since 1993 and serves on the executive, finance and education committees.

Oscar Aviles, CJM, CCE, CCHP, continues his tenure as secretary. He joined the board as liaison of the American Jail Association in April 2015. A former director of the Hudson County (NJ) Department of Corrections, he now is the county's assistant administrator. He serves on the executive and accreditation committees, as well as the jails and prisons subcommittee.

The changes took effect Oct.21 during the annual board meeting.

About the National Commission on Correctional Health Care

The mission of the National Commission on Correctional Health Care, a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization, is to improve the quality of health care in jails, prisons, and juvenile confinement facilities. NCCHC establishes standards for health services in correctional facilities, operates a voluntary accreditation program for institutions that meet those standards, produces and disseminates resource publications, conducts educational conferences, and offers a certification program for correctional health professionals. NCCHC is supported by the major national organizations representing the fields of health, mental health, law and corrections. Each of those supporting organizations has named a liaison to the NCCHC board of directors to create a robust, multidisciplinary governing structure that reflects the complexities of correcitonal health care.