Two Longtime NCCHC Executives Honored With Award of Merit

Posted Nov 1, 2014

For the first time in its history, the Bernard P. Harrison Award of Merit was given to two individuals, both longtime NCCHC executives who worked together for two decades as an extraordinarily effective and complementary team. The recipients are past president Edward A. Harrison, MBA, CCHP, and past vice president R. Scott Chavez, PhD, MPA, CCHP-A, who received the award posthumously. The awards were given Oct. 20 during the opening ceremony of the National Conference on Correctional Health Care in Las Vegas.

NCCHC’s highest honor, this award is presented to an individual or group that has demonstrated excellence and service that has advanced the correctional health care field, either through an individual project or a history of service. The award is named after NCCHC’s cofounder and first president.

Mr. Harrison joined NCCHC in September 1987, recruited by his father, Bernard Harrison, for his business, marketing and health management expertise. Two months later, Dr. Chavez became a member of the National Commission’s board of directors, serving as liaison of the American Academy of Physician Assistants. That was the start of a relationship that would have an immense and enduring impact on the Commission, one that was solidified when Dr. Chavez joined the staff as director of accreditation in January 1989.

Under Mr. Harrison’s leadership and with Dr. Chavez at his side, the National Commission made great strides in furthering its mission. During their tenure, the correctional health care field became recognized as a vital component of public health. The profession was elevated into a distinct practice area with its own certifications. With each edition of the NCCHC Standards, the quest for quality became more tangible, driven by performance data and evidence-based practices. Accreditation and education, always core strategies, expanded in scope and depth.

“The National Commission and its board of directors are extremely pleased to present this award to Mr. Harrison and Dr. Chavez,” said Thomas L. Joseph, MPS, CAE, NCCHC’s president and CEO. “With different roles and styles yet united by a common vision, together they shaped NCCHC into the leading force for quality improvement in correctional health care.”

Find the award recipients' profile here.

EDITOR NOTE: Photographs of Mr. Harrison and Dr. Chavez are available.

About the National Commission on Correctional Health Care

NCCHC is a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization working to improve the quality of care in our nation’s jails, prisons, and juvenile detention and confinement facilities. NCCHC establishes standards for health services in correctional facilities, operates a voluntary accreditation program for institutions that meet these standards, produces and disseminates resource publications, conducts educational trainings and conferences, and offers a certification program for correctional health professionals. NCCHC is supported by the major national organizations representing the fields of health, law and corrections. Each of these organizations has named a representative to the NCCHC board of directors.

NCCHC Supporting Organizations: Academy of Correctional Health Professionals, Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, American Academy of Pediatrics, American Academy of Physician Assistants, American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law, American Association of Public Health Physicians, American Bar Association, American College of Emergency Physicians, American College of Healthcare Executives, American College of Neuropsychiatrists, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, American College of Physicians, American College of Preventive Medicine, American Correctional Health Services Association, American Counseling Association, American Dental Association, American Health Information Management Association, American Jail Association, American Medical Association, American Nurses Association, American Osteopathic Association, American Pharmacists Association, American Psychiatric Association, American Psychological Association, American Public Health Association, American Society of Addiction Medicine, Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, International Association for Correctional and Forensic Psychology, National Association of Counties, National Association of County and City Health Officials, National Association of Social Workers, National Medical Association, National Partnership for Juvenile Services, National Sheriffs' Association, Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine, Society of Correctional Physicians

For more information:
Jaime Shimkus, Editor, NCCHC, 1145 Diversey Ave., Chicago, IL 60614